> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.literatu.com/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.literatu.com/scribo-for-web/community/archiving-student-cohorts.md).

# Archiving Student Cohorts

At the beginning of a new year, it is a good idea to archive the accounts of your leaving cohorts – e.g. prior year's Year 12.  This removes the students from the active list and places their account into an archived state. These students can no longer login, though it is possible to un-archive their accounts should this be necessary.&#x20;

In Literatu, students are tagged to their cohorts by the classes they belong to. For this reason, students can be archived in bulk using their class groups.&#x20;

To archive a cohort, please follow the instructions below.&#x20;

To archive all classes in the school, follow these instructions or watch the video following:&#x20;

1. Open a web browser and go to [www.literatu.com](http://www.literatu.com).
2. Login with your community administrator account.
3. Click the hamburger menu at the top left of the screen, and select Manage -> Classes <https://www.literatu.com/communities/classes>
4. If you have a cohort-level class in Literatu (ie. a class with an entire cohort loaded), please find and join that class. Otherwise, it is a good idea to join the English classes of the cohort you are going to archive.[ Click here for instructions on how to join and leave classes.](https://docs.literatu.com/scribo-for-web/community/on-boarding-using-teacher-and-student-access-keys/joining-and-leaving-classes)&#x20;
5. In the 'My Classes' tab, click the checkbox beside each class that contains students you wish to archive.
6. At the bottom right of the My Classes tab, click the 'Group Actions' button and choose 'Archive All Students'

![](https://770445871-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-legacy-files/o/assets%2F-LulEkwN7sc6BT53G0R8%2F-LzgAwK31h5XpnX2iMEJ%2F-LzgS0clvTFXqiHyZ8k_%2Fimage.png?alt=media\&token=401d6320-c5f0-4f89-9e21-39876dfa11f0)

Your students will be archived. You can leave (un-join) the classes - [Click here for instructions on how to leave classes.](https://docs.literatu.com/scribo-for-web/community/on-boarding-using-teacher-and-student-access-keys/joining-and-leaving-classes)&#x20;
